Chapters and Groups of the ASA

The Society houses special interest groups such as Chapters, Working Groups and groups formed jointly with cognate societies:

Australian National Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics (ANITA)

 ANITA is a virtual national institute which aims to ensure that the needs of Australian theoretical astrophysics are represented at a national and international level.

The goals of ANITA are to raise the profile of Australian theoretical astrophysics, encourage national collaboration, foster international links, facilitate theoretical astrophysics meetings, and provide input into national policy.

All enquiries can be made by contacting ANITA at

Early Career Researcher (ECR)

The Early Career Researcher chapter is a chapter of the Astronomical Society of Australia  (ASA) that acts to support the needs and development of Early Career Researchers in the Australian astronomy community. It does this through the following priorities:

  1. Inform the members about opportunities for professional training and support
  2. Provide training for the members in areas of professional development
  3. Connect the members with each other, and also with senior researcher mentors, providing a support network
  4. Acting as an advocacy and representation body for its members

You must already be a member of the ASA to join. Senior astronomers and students are also very welcome.  You can get in touch with the Steering Committee by emailing us at

Education and Public Outreach (EPOC)

Many members of the Astronomical Society of Australia (ASA) are involved in astronomy Education and Public Outreach at all levels of society, ranging from school visits to university education, media contacts and activities for the general public. The Education and Public Outreach Chapter (EPOC) is a Chapter of the ASA providing a forum to discuss and promote these activities, whilst also initiating some of its own.

The Mission of EPOC is:

To advance the level of public awareness of the excitement of astronomy and of the international importance of Australian astronomy, while promoting the teaching of astronomy to students and the public.

The ASA is a signatory to the Washington Charter for Communicating Astronomy to the Public, which acknowledges the responsibility of astronomers to effectively communicate astronomy to the public for the benefit of all.

The IDEA Chapter was established as the Women in Astronomy Chapter by the ASA Council in November 2009, to raise the profile of women in Australian astronomy. In 2016, the Chapter aims were broadened to include wider diversity issues and was renamed to reflect this change.

Inclusion, Diversity and Equity in Astronomy (IDEA)

The Group for Astroparticle Physics (GAP) is a joint Group of the ASA and the Australian Institute of Physics.

Closing the ‘gap’ between astronomy and particle physics, a key aim of the GAP is to bring together these two communities to advance the field of astroparticle physics. Further information about the GAP can be found in the  GAP Charter.

The GAP website is hosted by the Australian Institute of Physics.

GAP 2022 Steering Committee

  • Co-Chair (AIP): Celine Boehm
  • Co-Chair (ASA): Mark Krumholz
  • Hayley Bignall (treasurer)
  • Roland Crocker
  • Martin White
  • Krzysztof Bolejko
  • Nicole Bell (AIP representative)
  • Marc Duldig (ASA representative)
  • Smrithi Gireesh Babu (student member AIP)
  • Matt Roth (student member ASA)
  • Gavin Rowell (secretary & past co-chair, AIP)
  • Alexander Heger (past co-chair, ASA)

Joining GAP

Please note that only ASA and/or AIP members may nominate for Steering Committee positions, and vote in their election.

Sending Emails to the GAP Membership

GAP formation committee

  • Hayley Bignall
  • Marc Duldig
  • Clancy James
  • Gavin Rowell (chair)
  • Yvonne Wong



The ASA Sustainability Working Group (SWG) was commissioned by the ASA council in 2019 to lead initiatives to promote sustainable working practices within the Australian Astronomical Community.


Astronomy offers a fresh angle to engage the public with the science of climate change. Astronomers bring an understanding of the underlying cause-and-effect physics governing planetary behaviour from the widest perspective of all: the origins, evolution and fate of the solar system itself. The energy budget of Earth, the fate of our neighbouring worlds in the solar system, and the emerging results from exoplanetary discovery can be woven into a compelling narrative. This talk asks you to join us in bringing evidence-based reason, drawn from your own field, to the forefront of public discourse.

See the ASA’s Sustainability Statement.

Please feel free to use these resources for your very own talk:

  1. Main Presentation: keynote pdf
  2. Demo Videos: Caponograph IR Camera
  3. More Resources

Contact the SWG – for more information or to join the SWG, contact Themiya Nanayakkara at