Roy Allen Medal for Exceptional Service

Established in 2021, the Roy Allen Medal is awarded in recognition of exceptional service to the Society. Below is the list of all Roy Allen Medal recipients to date (alphabetical order).

Roy Allen (2021)

Roy Allen served on the ASA Council executive as Joint Secretary from 1977 to 1992.

Roy was then the ASA representative on the three person Donovan Trust Board, which was an ex-officio Council position, from 1993 to 2007. In total Roy has provided 31 years of outstanding support to the Society, from which all members have benefited. Roy was the first ASA member to serve the Society for over 25 years, and so it is fitting that a Medal honouring Exceptional Service should carry his name.

Marc Duldig (2021)

Australian Antarctic Division and the University of Tasmania.

Marc has held the position of Joint ASA Joint Secretary since 1985, except during 1989-1990 when he served as an ASA Council Member.

Marc has had a distinguished career with the Australian Antarctic Division for over 30 years, as an Adjunct lecturer at U Tas and various roles associated with Christ College. He has selflessly served both the astronomical community (through his role as ASA Joint Secretary) as well as the national and international physics communities through numerous roles since 1983, including AIP President from 2011 to 2013.

John O'Byrne (2021)

The University of Sydney.

John has held the position of Joint ASA Joint Secretary since 1993.

John is with the Sydney Institute for Astronomy, School of Physics at the University of Sydney, where he is currently Associate Dean (Student Life) in the Faculty of Science. Until recently he was co-Chair of the Physics Equity and Access Committee (PEAC).