

## ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY OF AUSTRALIA

Incorporated in the ACT ABN 37 660 297 848

President Prof J C Lattanzio
Immediate Past Pres.
Vice-President Ass Prof S Shabala
Treasurer Dr Y Fenner
Secretaries Dr M L Duldig

Dr M L Duldig Ass Prof J W O'Byrne Prof J C Lattanzio, President, ASA School of Physics and Astronomy

10 College Walk,

Monash University, Clayton, Victoria, 3800

Phone: +61 (0)409 959 326 E-mail: john.lattanzio@monash.edu

31 Mar 2023

## **Supplement to ASA Submission to Science Priorities**

In a separate document, we have made the case for astronomy holding a unique position within science. It connects with society in many direct and indirect ways, enabling technological development, and delivering societal benefits.

We strongly believe that this very special science has connections and opportunities that are essential to the future scientific capability of Australia, including economic and societal impacts. Australia's world-leading international reputation in astronomy has already brought in significant direct foreign investment and brain gain. Technology transfer and workforce training by astronomers have benefited many applied areas of national importance. We request a meeting with Australia's Chief Scientist and relevant representative(s) of the national science and research priorities Taskforce to highlight the opportunities offered by astronomy, and indeed fundamental science in general.

## Signed by:

Professor John Lattanzio, President Astronomical Society of Australia

Professor Virginia Kilborn, Chair of the National Committee of Astronomy

Professor Brian Schmidt, Nobel Laureate, Vice Chancellor ANU

Heads of Astronomy Departments and Astronomy facilities

Professor Matthew Bailes, Director, ARC Centre of Excellence, OzGrav

Professor Holger Baumgardt, Director, School Mathematics and Physics, University of Queensland

Professor Joss Bland-Hawthorn, Director, Sydney Institute for Astronomy

Professor Jean P. Brodie, Director, Centre for Astrophysics and Supercomputing, Swinburne University

Professor Sarah Brough, Head of School of Physics, UNSW Sydney

Professor Brad Carter, Director, Centre for Astrophysics, University of Southern Queensland

Dr Mark Casali, Director, Australian Astronomical Optics, Macquarie University

Professor Andrew Cole, Head of Physics, University of Tasmania

Professor Bruce Dawson, Head of Astrophysics, University of Adelaide

Professor Miroslav Filipovic, Director Penrith Observatory, Western Sydney University

A/Professor Paul Lasky, Head of Astro Group, School of Physics and Astronomy, Monash University

A/Professor Chris Lidman, Director, Siding Spring Observatory

Professor Richard McDermid, Head of Astrophysics, Macquarie University

Professor Sarah Pears, SKA Low Telescope Director

Dr Ashley Ruiter, Discipline Leader, School of Science, UNSW Canberra @ADFA

Professor Emma Ryan-Weber, Director, ARC Centre of Excellence, ASTRO 3D

Professor Lister Staveley-Smith, Director, International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research, UWA

Professor Steven Tingay, Director, Curtin Institute for Radio Astronomy Research, Curtin University

Professor Rachel Webster, Head of Physics, University of Melbourne

Professor Stuart Wyithe, Director, Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics, ANU